The Greatest Wimbledon Champions in Tennis


Roger Federer pic

Roger Federer

A vice president with T. Rowe Price, Barrett Wragg leads a physically active lifestyle that includes frequent visits to the tennis court. Barrett Wragg also enjoys following professional sports, including Wimbledon.

Wimbledon is often regarded as the most coveted trophy in all of tennis. The tournament has been held at the same venue for nearly 140 years and has seen a number of the sport’s greatest champions prevail. On the gentlemen’s side, all-time greats Roger Federer and Bjorn Borg share the record of five consecutive tournament wins in a row. After dominating the tournament from 2003 to 2007, Federer again came away victorious in 2009 and 2012. His seven titles are tied with Pete Sampras for the most Wimbledon wins in men’s tennis.

Martina Navratilova owns nine Wimbledon singles trophies, the most among both ladies and men. Navratilova won her first Wimbledon trophy in 1978 and went on to defend the following season. From 1982 to 1987 Navratilova won the event on six consecutive occasions, another all-time record. The American tennis player reclaimed the Wimbledon crown in 1990 for the ninth and final time.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s